To read, or not to read: that is the question.

Magazine Stack
I wish I had counted the number of times that I was told “I will get to those magazines eventually, they have articles I want to read.” I am not saying you shouldn’t read magazines but it is interesting how stacks of magazines are prevelant in many homes today causing clutter and that nagging feeling that “you will get to them some day”.
There is a solution that I have found works really well…
Step 1) Skim through the magazine for articles you want to read.
Step 2) Cut out the pages with the article. I use the iSlice from Pampered Chef because it is magnetic and can be placed out of reach of little fingers.
Magazine article cutter
Step 3) Store in an expanding file folder by category. You can spend more time looking at the articles you really want than the piles you don’t want.
topical folder
Step 4) I do something similar with recipes but check back soon for more information on recipe organization.

Links for products
Expanding File Folder
iSlice by Pampered Chef

7 thoughts on “To read, or not to read: that is the question.

  1. Margie

    I put all my clippings in file folders. Eventually I had enough file folders to fill a file cabinet. Now I’m going through all the file folders and throwing most of the contents into the recycle bin.I can find much more current information on the internet!

    Reply
      1. Margie

        Assuming you maintain your status with the ‘Never Been Freshly Pressed’ Club, you will be more than welcome to attend our conference, assuming we ever get organized enough to have one.
        As for a session on the over use of exclamation points – I wrote a post called ‘My Overworked Exclamation Mark!’ Even though my research told me I wander outside the bounds of correct use, I can’t seem to rein myself in!!!

Leave a Reply

