How to Organize Stink Bugs

As an organizer, I get to go into deep corners and dark closets, the favorite hiding places of the brown marmorated stink bug.  Introduced into the United States in the mid 1990s, these glorious creatures have become almost the bain of my existence.  I literally cringe when I hear that unmistakable hum nearby. Interestingly enough, these stink bugs pose no threat to humans, only to our olfactory senses and vegetation.

The true reason for this post is that I have received numerous inquiries into how to get rid of this pest. To date I have found no pesticide that effectively removes or even repels them. I have used Bonide – Eight Garden & Home and EcoSmart Organic Home Pest Control which is an oil based product. None of these options worked.

{No SBs allowed} The best method is to limit their ability to enter your home by removing vegetation touching your house and sealing cracks. I have even taped doors shut for brief periods in the fall so that they don’t enter my home. One of the reasons for this is once a stink bug finds a cosy spot, it emits an aggregation pheromone alerting others to join him.

{Beat them at their own game} Since stink bugs like to congregate one of the methods I prefer is to trap them. You can either make a home-made trap or purchase a trap with a light attachment.

{If all else fails} If you still find them in your home, I recommend used a bucket with warm water and dawn soap under a light. I have attracted and killed hundreds in this manner. (see disturbing picture below).

Stink bug removal

I would love to hear how you’ve dealt with this pest!

For more information visit:

http://njaes.rutgers.edu/stinkbug/control.asp

http://ento.psu.edu/extension/factsheets/brown-marmorated-stink-bug

5 thoughts on “How to Organize Stink Bugs

  1. dragonflyzia

    Bain of my existence…love that line! I keep a water bottle filled 1/4 of the way with water and Dawn and when I see one….I drown it. It doesn’t prevent them, but it makes me feel better! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

